top of page

The Art Of Including Mindfulness In The Everyday.

The importance of self-care and mindfulness is a topic which has grown in popularity in recent years. It's great to see society respecting the importance of self-care and the positive impact it can have on both a person's mental and physical wellbeing. I always thought I didn't have time to practice mindfulness within my day - that was until I changed my perception of what mindfulness meant to me. I strongly believe the concept of being mindful, can signify something different to each and every one of us. Whether your approach to mindfulness is switching off your phone to spend quality time with friends and family, going for a long run to collect your thoughts, or even to reserve five minutes out of your day to reflect on the things you're grateful for. It's important for everyone to make time for themselves, no matter how little. For me, mindfulness doesn't mean anything too strenuous, it simply means to commit a few moments of my day to become still and to just purely breathe.

These mindful moments can happen at any point of my day. Stripping things down and fully being present in the moment is something I've found particularly satisfying. Rather than mindlessly scrolling online whilst I drink my morning coffee, I put down my phone and take my time to just enjoy it. Taste it, smell it and take in how it makes you feel. I truly believe things taste better when your focus isn't working overtime thinking about one million other things! By embracing the slow living movement and by making simple changes within your everyday, can make your day feel much more meaningful. Instead of waking up and immediately reaching for your device, try taking a moment to think about the one thing you aim to achieve that day.

I've dusted off the yoga mat, which I bought many years ago with the best intensions to now use to stretch out my stresses. I enjoy devoting ten-to-fifteen minutes of my day to stretch out my body whilst focusing or reflecting upon my daily goals. By waking up a little earlier on a morning, or using this as an activity to unwind after a long day, having a good ol' stretch allows you to reassemble your mind, and get it back in focus.


This year, I have begun to keep a note of all of the good things which have happened to me each month. This small activity has made such a huge difference to my outlook on life. I'd love to do this every day, but I feel as though I would end up in a rut of writing the same things - so restricting this to a weekly basis works perfectly for me. Each time something exciting happens or if I receive good news, or an opportunity - whether or not things follow through - I always write them down. It's only a few days into February and I already have a fair few things written on my list. It's easy to overlook and forget about all of the good that has happened, when you're feeling down or if you're caught up in a busy schedule. This activity is such a nice way to look back and remind yourself how much you have achieved each month!



I mentioned my aim to become more sustainably conscious when it comes to fashion during my last post. Becoming more sustainable is a concept which I will keep aiming towards. Building a capsule wardrobe, filled with pieces which you are able to wear time and time again is something I believe strongly in. Sometimes simplicity is key. A classic white t-shirt paired with your favourite blue jeans is the perfect everyday uniform. These wardrobe staples are timeless. Investing in a pair of well-fitted jeans and a simple white tee, is the perfect outfit for almost any occasion. It's because this combo is simplistic and so easy to style up and down, depending on the occasion.


My denim jeans are from Topshop, this shade has certainly became my go-to pair. I love TS's Mom jeans, they're always so flattering and super comfortable. Plus, they actually last the test of time, I find they get better the more I wear them. My And Other Stories knitted navy cardigan is another classic, I wear it draped over almost all of my outfits, to add an extra detailed layer.

Whilst writing this post, I found myself using the phrase '...to take time out of your day to...' Upon proofreading this piece, I went back to delete this phrase, why? Because mindfulness shouldn't be a practice which you need to take time out of your day for, it should be a notion which you include in your everyday life. Being mindful should become a part of your everyday, no exception. I hope this post inspires you to practice mindfulness and to introduce it as a vital notion of your every day life!


A huge thank you to the lovely Holly for these photographs, it was very cold in Manchester the day we shot this!

Photographer: Holly Beson-Tams

Check out her Instagram here.

Check out her website here.


How do you practice being mindful? I'd love to hear more from you and your experiences!


S x

Comments


bottom of page